I’m still alive

9 11 2012

It’s been awhile. Yes, I’m still alive over here, although the 35-40 degree weather we’ve had has made me wonder if sometimes I’m actually frozen.

The past few weeks have been quite busy in the sense that I’ve been all over the place! I was a part of leading a team of 30 students to NYC and Seattle for a Tech trek, which meant we visited tech companies and spoke with alumni, got to see their offices, learned about the culture, and for some, were able to get an inside view into their product development.

We visited Microsoft, Google, IBM, Quirky, Chartbeat, Boeing, T-Mobile, Amazon, Philips Medical, Big Fish, and bitly. Had some great interactions with top management at a few of the companies, and were able to see the big facility at Boeing where they make their planes. All in all, it was a great trip. The students we led seemed to find great value in the trek, and everything went smoothly. Personally, I realized I want to move back to somewhere where it’s warm and sunny most of the time. After being in Pittsburgh, and then in Seattle, the grey skies were killing me! Thankfully this past weekend I was able to go to San Diego for one of my best friend’s wedding and enjoy the glorious 80 degrees weather there. Next weekend I’m headed to Texas for an interview and will get to enjoy some more sunshine there.

I realized how much of an affect certain things can have on you. I think the main considerations for a job are:

  • Position
  • Company
  • Location

It’s rare that you’ll be able to have all three of your top desires met. Generally, you’ll be at the company you want in a position you like, in a location that wasn’t your first preference. Or you’ll be in a company and location that you like, and the position will be something that you take in order to be at that company, but you hope to move around in the future.

For me, I think the main things that I want are position/area and location. I want to be within IT, and I want to be in a warm, sunny place (the no season deal doesn’t bother me. 85 and sunny all the time is fine for me), and not too far from those I love. I think these are important items to realize about myself. This helps me narrow my job search down a little as well, rather than just having everything be broad and open.

A few pictures of the fun that’s been happening besides the school work (oh wait, that’s not the fun part, but it is good).

If you don’t hear much from me in the next 6 weeks, it’s going to be a little crazy, so we’ll catch up over Christmas break!

ImageImageImage

 

Making butternut squash soup with Kate. We have to celebrate Fall!

Image

Seattle Trek adventures:

Image

Amazon

Image

 

Microsoft

Image

Snoqualmie Falls

Image

First Starbucks

Image

With Gail and her sisters in NYC

Image

Gorgeous leaves

Image

One of the park areas where I run

Image

Actions

Information

One response

9 11 2012
David Zook

You were @ Snoqualamie (sp?) falls when you were about 2. We visited when we lived in Seattle.

Leave a Reply

