Gluten-free Egg-free crepes

9 04 2011

Deliciousness. Mmm.

I woke up this morning with a desire for crepes. Unfortunate when you can’t eat normal flour, milk, or eggs (I’m not eating a lot of stuff right now in order to find out what’s bothering me still — it totally stinks!) it’s hard to make crepes. Main ingredients in case you weren’t aware are flour, milk, eggs, and water. Yeah…

Experiment time!

I knew that I could use flax seed as a replacement for eggs (I’ve tried it one before and it was kind of a flop for cookies- made them really crumbly). It was truly an experiment. I had hazelnut milk that I’ve been enjoying so thought that would work. I have a GF blend of flour that I use as a substitute and it normally works well.

My recipe: (I improvised from a crepe recipe that my mom had given me and halved it, so that’s why there’s weird measurements)
Crepe:
5/8 c hazelnut milk
1 Tbs ground flax seed mixed with 2Tbs of of warm water (mix this together with a whisk until it’s a little thick and then add in)
3/4 t vanilla
3/4 c gluten free flour blend (My blend is normally 1 1/2 c sorghum (also called juwar at Indian grocery stores) flour, 1 1/2 c tapioca flour, 1 c potato starch)
3/4 t sugar
1 1/2 t xanthan gum (to make it stick together)

Mix all ingredients together with a whisk. Spray enough Pam or cooking spray on a skillet to make it not stick. Pour about half of the batter on the skillet and move the skillet around so that the crepe is pretty thin on the pan. Let it cook for about 1-2 minutes on the first side. As long as you can flip it over, it’s ready. It should be not fully cooked on that one side. Then let it cook for another 3-4 minutes on the other side. Put it on a big plate and put whatever you want inside!

Inside the crepe, I put peanut butter, apple jelly, and strawberries and bananas. You could put cream cheese with a little bit of sugar in it if you’re not dairy-free. Then sprinkle a little powdered sugar on top.

My roommate said this was the best GF thing that I’ve made.
Mmm. Can you do it as well? Let me know how your variation turns out.

Actions

Information

One response

11 04 2011
Heather @Gluten-Free Cat

Your crepes look wonderful!!!! And delicious. I didn’t realize you were staying away from milk and eggs too. Milk isn’t too bad as almond milk and coconut milk is so yummy. But egg is hard. Most of my egg-free friends do the flax egg thing too. I need to try these!

Leave a Reply

