Mentoring and other exciting things

23 02 2011

Adventure is something that is common in my life. I love it. But it’s scary often times. I’m called to it. Crazy things happen in my life and God brings me through them. I’ve been reading through Romans lately and came upon this last night:
(The Message version)
Romans 8:15-16
“This resurrection life you received from God is not a timid, grave-tending life. It’s adventurously expectant, greeting God with a childlike “What’s next, Papa?” God’s Spirit touches our spirits and confirms who we really are. We know who he is, and we know who we are: Father and children.”

Adventurous. Anticipating great things. Expectant. On time someone combined the words and said that we’re Anticipant. Love it. Yes, that’s me. Or what I want to be.

This is a big week. Technovation Challenge starts! Mentorship at RockHarbor Fullerton starts. These are two things that for which I’ve been praying about for at least 2 years now. Spiritual mentorship and tech mentorship. I’ve realized the need that I have to have other people pouring in to my life and have been looking for people to do so. Unfortunately I haven’t been able to find a Christian woman technologist to do so for me.
But I have been able to find two different things which sort of fit that. And they both start this week. A little overwhelming? I think yes. When it rains, it pours. But this is good pouring rain.


The mission of the Technovation Challenge is to promote women in technology by giving girls the skills and confidence they need to be successful in computer science and entrepreneurship. In the course, high school young women will design a mobile phone app prototype, write a business plan, and “pitch” their plan to a panel of venture capitalists at a high-visibility, “Pitch Night” event. Winners of each regional Pitch Night will come to the San Francisco Bay Area for a “National Pitch Night.”

I’m a mentor for Technovation challenge! Last night was the first night. A little scary. I haven’t ever worked with high school students before. What am I supposed to talk to them about? Everyone at my table was quiet. We got going though; the girls were excited to learn about technology, be creative, make new friends, and learn a lot. I think it will be great. Seriously, I’m like jumping out of my skin with excitement about it. Why didn’t they have something like this when I was a kid?!

Technovation girls playing a game

Still, I’m the only SysAdmin. Ugh! Where are you, women SysAdmins?? The other mentors aren’t really IT techie – One is a 6th grade teacher, one is an entrepreneur for business and non-profit work, and another is a programmer — which is techie, but different than what I do; we still speak a different language. The other leaders are TAs for the class, which means they are all students. Most are Masters or Ph.D students, but a few are undergrad students. All of these people are either Computer Science or Computer Engineering majors, which is fun because we all have that technical mind and think logically.

When I went to training, it was great. It’s so cool to see women who are science and technology-minded in the same room. We all wanted to be friends. Great! 🙂
Quote from a girl who decided to study engineering and is a TA for the Technovation Challenge:
“My passions for graphic design, math, and science blend together into fields of computer science such as human computer interaction, computer graphics, user interface design, and animation. If that sounds like a bunch of nerdy words that don’t mean anything, consider this: the magic behind Disney, both the parks and the animated Pixar movies, is largely a bunch of engineering and computer science mixed with art and imagination. If that doesn’t make engineering and computer science sound cool, I don’t know how to help you.”
This is what Technovation Challenge is about. It’s not just nerdy. It’s using it for real life stuff. Cool things.

I think they do a really good job of teaching too. They teach and then do interactive work so that everyone stays involved and paying attention. They don’t let people use their phones and they’ll take them away if they are using them. It’s organized, professional, yet still fun and we can show that we’re there to care for them and help them in any way possible! We want to help them succeed! Yes.

Excitement.

Other fun things: Went on a retreat this weekend and met some nice friends. It was great. It was with Alex’s church (If you haven’t heard about him, he’s my boyfriend :)) and was seriously 5 minutes from my parent’s house! Crazy. I mean, what’s held that close to Bonsall? The retreat was with Grace Community Church and was on Evangelism. Good. Convicting. Life-reorienting.
We went to La Jolla with my new friends and saw the seals on the rocks. Climbed around on the rocks. Almost fell in. It was crazy — the rain was coming down and I prayed that it would stop so we could walk around. The time that we were outside it was dry. Right when we went inside to eat, and then later to drive home, it was raining. Thanks, God!

New friends in La Jolla

2 fun hiking trips within a week! Vasquez rocks with two good friends, Andrew and Rachel, and then up to Mount Ararat near my house in Bonsall with Alex. It’s just gorgeous. I can’t believe I lived there all my life and now live in LA. It’s just another world.

Alex and I at Vasquez Rocks

Alex and I at Vasquez Rocks


Street by my parents' house in Bonsall


This is unedited! This is how it really looked!

On top of the world! Literally

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

