Beauty Pageant Reflections

13 02 2009

I was asked to write an article and answer some questions about my pageant experience. I figured I might as well blog about it.
Questions to answer:

Firstly, how did you all come about deciding to enter the Miss Fullerton competition?

I found out about the competition through my housemates. Michelle Rindels thought that it would be fun to participate in a pageant and had told Jessica Oh. They both looked into it and found out about Miss Fullerton. I think this was in November. The night before they were going to try out, they told me about it, and I thought it sounded fun. It’s always been one of those things in the back of my mind that I thought would be fun to do. They convinced me to try out with them. The worst they could say was no, right?

You are all living together, is that right (the three of you)? Where is your “home”, how long have you all been living there and is it an apartment or dorm or what?

We all live in a house in Buena Park (2 miles from school) and have been living here for this school year. We moved in around August, and have loved it! There are 10 girls in the house, and although the house is very big, it is quite a noisy house! All of the girls except for me are students.

How do you feel about hearing the news that Jessica won?

I am really excited that Jessica won. When we first entered, I knew that she would win. She’s beautiful, very smart, has confidence in who she is and how she presents herself, and is a very good public speaker. I knew that she would be great for the job, so it didn’t surprise me when they picked her. I’m very happy that she did win!

Tell me just a little about your experience.

To be honest, the whole experience was quite a learning experience for me. I never thought that I would be in a beauty pageant. I always thought that the girls who did it were just pretty on the outside, and had “nothing on the inside” (whether that be brains or character). However, I learned that the Miss America program is about much more than beauty. It is very much community service oriented. They want to select a representative who will be active in community events, and will be a great help to the city. The women who were in our competition were actually very smart, and there were some wonderful friends that I met through it.

It’s difficult to compete for something that you don’t really have a whole lot of control over. They either think you’re pretty or they don’t. I’m a very competitive person, so this was hard for me to think that I can only be as pretty as I originally was made to be. But I think the Lord taught me a lot about beauty through the competition practices. It really became a very personal learning experience for me to question who’s truth I would value more: the Lord’s or the world’s. I realized that even if I came in last place that the Lord still valued me and really did see me as beautiful. It’s kind of one of those things that you know in your head, but to get it into your heart it takes a lot more. Because of this, the competition was hard for me, but so stretching in so many ways. I’m not really a person who enjoys being in the spotlight. I would rather be behind stage supporting those on the stage. So it was definitely encouraging to see my on-stage confidence grow and even win me a place as 4th Runner up!

I went into the competition thinking that it would fun to wear a pretty dress and flounce around on stage. But I learned a lot more than that. I gained more confidence in who I was, in how the Lord loved me, and even grew in my interviewing and presentation skills. I really valued the opportunity to be in the pageant, and take part in something that was once-in-a-lifetime for me. I enjoyed spending time with the girls at pageant practice and getting to know my housemates better through the process. It was definitely a great opportunity to become friends with some non-Christians and share the love of Christ with them.

Finally, you received fourth-runner-up, is that correct?
4th Runner up 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

